HPV – What is it?

3 Aug

Went for my first PAP Smear last month and that was the first time I heard of it: HPV.

Dr Yeo asked if I want to take the HPV test as well, since I was taking the PAP Smear.

BUT.. What is HPV and do I need it? I don’t have ONS and don’t ever intend to have ONSs. Would I have HPV? Not likely? Then why should I spend $150 to do the HPV test?

I thought HPV is something like HIV or AIDS.. Until the doctor explained further. Wah! I never knew HPV is that common!!

Later I went back to do more research.

Before I bore you with too much info, let me just state some key points:

– Both males and females can get HPV
– HPV may cause warts for males and cervical cancer for females
– Even a virgin or someone who had sex just once may get HPV
– Most of us have HPV any point of our lives without our knowledge!

Okay, if you are beginning to feel worried (like I was am), read on!
(In fact, I am so worried for my family, friends and everyone that I’ve been sharing this!!)

20130804-205718.jpg
20130805-001105.jpg
In another article.. Once again, it stated that HPV is very common!
20130804-220402.jpg
And in this article too!
20130805-000833.jpg
20130805-000944.jpg
20130804-222225.jpg

Sources

Cervical Cancer & HPV
Genital HPV Infection – Fact Sheet
HPV Vaccine
You Don’t Need To Have Sex To Get HPV

~~~

After learning about HPV, I was so worried that I may have it without realising it!!

Was so relieved when my result came back and it was NEGATIVE! #thankyouGod

And so the next thing to think about is, HPV VACCINATION.
Which I shall share more in my next post. :)

Leave a Reply

