Using the Internet Responsibly: Commenting Online

14 Jan

Hi all! I’m back from Taiwan! Miao Li is such a wonderful place! (Yes, I haven’t even finish blogging about my Batam trip!! Will do so before CNY, I hope!)

Just a quick sharing on my interesting encounter online recently~

Because of Kit Chan, I went to Youtube to watch videos on 我是歌手3 (I Am A Singer 3).

I must admit that part of me was curious to see the responses. *Troll alert* Opps! For that, I’m sorry but.. Nonetheless, I decided to comment something which I would have normally just keep it in my mind. It’s seriously quite mild. No vulgarities (lol!), no malicious insult.. (Just wondered why the screenshot showed this singer but when I clicked on the video, it showed another China singer instead. Especially since it’s uploaded by the official organization.. Should have corrected this right?)

Disclaimer: I rarely post negative comments to annoy people. (Although I didn’t think the one I did for experiment was that bad.)

Interestingly I got quite a lot of scoldings and ‘suanings’ (aka sarcastic remarks). But they are mostly in Mandarin so I didn’t really take the time to read everything.

One of the things that amused me was that some of them seemed more angry because I wrote the comment in English. Another one said something like I was pretentious and want to show off my English..?? Because according to one of them, people who really knows English do not watch Mandarin videos. Eh okay.. Haha! That’s interesting to hear.. I mean, read.

Anyway, to look on the positive side, it’s nice to see people standing up for their fellow countrymen. Unity is strength! :)

(But that’s also prolly why Kit Chan was the first to be out even though I think her performance was great. Nevermind, I still love her! ♥)

Nonetheless, I learnt some interesting lessons from this incident:

1. Remarks that seem harmless to you may be offensive to others.
2. Angry people don’t talk sense at times so don’t take it to heart.
3. Others’ words can’t hurt you if you don’t accept them.
4. There’s no need to argue or have the last word.
5. Lashing out at others does not resolve the problems / make others understand their mistakes. (Actually all they need to do is to calmly point out my mistake and I’ll gladly say, “Oh I see. You are right and I am sorry for my previous comment.”)

Thanks for the lessons learnt and I’m sorry if any of them feel extremely agitated for my (experimental) comment.

(Thank God I’m not a celebrity.. Can’t imagine how much emotional stress celebrities had to endure when they unknowingly offend the public. Let’s be kinder to them!)

keep_calm_and_spread_love_by_manishmansinh-d4k9l38

~~~

Afterthoughts..

Seriously I wonder if people nowadays are getting increasingly abusive verbally nowadays?

Verbal abuse is no better than physical abuse. How many people have committed suicide or thought of doing so because they had been verbally abused constantly?

Technology is supposed to make our lives better.. But sadly, many people abused this “power”. They hide behind their computer (or smartphones) and hurl insults to people online. People they don’t even know.

I think about this whenever I want to post a comment online or blog: What do I want to do with this “power”? To change people’s lives for the better.. Or worse?

But well, I’m still human (a sensitive one, in fact!) so sometimes I do write stuff online to rant out my frustrations.. >.<

~~~

Suggestions for everyone (and MYSELF!)..

If you feel like writing something negative about someone, please think first:

1. Is it constructive?
2. Does it help the person to improve?
3. Do you sound angry and irrational?
4. Is there a better way to convey your thoughts?
5. Should you go ahead and post your comments?

If you come across some nasty comments about you..

1. Reflect on your words / actions which trigger the response.
2. Ask yourself: Is there anything I can learn from the words? Or are those just plain, worthless insulting words?
3. Don’t take it negatively. (And just ignore the useless hate comments.)
4. Leave the webpage or delete the comments if you can’t stop yourself from getting upset.

Hope whoever reads this benefit as much as I do!

Have a nice day and..
PB_spreadthelove_final
Because Love makes the world go world! ♥ (Powerpuff Girls say so!)

Leave a Reply

